
FAQs relating to the above rules.   Red relates to changes 
to rules for the 2024 regatta 
 

Q: Is there a summary of all the exclusions for each event? 

Yes, see the Summary of Exclusion Rules document, to be read with the 
Qualification rules. 

Q: We raced time only at WEHoRR 2023 due to an ineligible 
substitute.  Our finish time would have placed us 40th, does this rule 
us out of the Frank V Harry 4+ event? 

A: Any athletes in this WEHoRR crew are ineligible for the Frank V Harry 
4+ event at HWR because their standard is such that they would have 
placed in the top 50.  Athletes should remember that the WEHoRR placing 
is a “forever” rule and is not a “for 5 years” rule. 

 

Q: HRR: I qualified for the Remenham Challenge Cup in 2021 and the 
Wargrave Challenge Cup in 2023, do I need to race Championship in 
2024 even though we didn’t win the Wargrave? 

Yes, you need to race in a Championship level event due to having 
qualified for an Open event at HRR in 2021. 

Q: I raced in the Oxford / Cambridge Lightweight crew in 2022, we 
were awarded a Blue – does this mean I have to race Championship? 

A: As a Lightweight blue you are not mandated to race Championship, but 
you are excluded from the Frank V Harry 4+ and the Fiona Dennis Lwt 
1x. It is the athletes in the Open crew who need to race Championship 
level events. 

Q: I came 3 rd in lightweight 4x at BUCs in 2023 but then we won EUSA 
that summer.  Do I need to race in a Championship event? 

A: No, you are not mandated to race Championship based on your BUCs & 
EUSA result, but you are excluded from Frank V Harry 4 and the Fiona 
Dennis trophy.   

Q: I won Intermediate Club 8+ in 2016, does this mean I can race in 
the Copas Cup or the Lester Trophy? 

A: Previous winners of Intermediate (Club or Academic) are excluded from 
the Frank V Harry 4+ only (see Qualification rules).  This is because up to 



and including the 2017 regatta, the Intermediate events were our entry 
level events. 

Q: Your rules say that anyone who qualified via a time trial (except 
from the Frank V Harry 4+ or J18 or J16 events) is ineligible for the 
Frank V Harry 4+ in 2024.   I raced in the Cathy Cruickshank Trophy in 
2019 but no crews were eliminated from our time trial and we lost in 
our first side by side race.   Am I eligible for the Frank V Harry 4+ 
in 2024 if I meet all the other Development criteria? 

A: Yes, you are eligible for Frank V Harry 4+ in 2024, the time trial was for 
seeding only and no one was eliminated. 

Q: Your rules say that anyone who qualified via a time trial (except 
the Frank V Harry 4+ or J18 or J16 events) is ineligible for the Frank V 
Harry 4+ in 2023.   I raced in the Cathy Cruickshank Trophy in 2019 
but no crews were eliminated from our time trial and we won our first 
round.   Am I eligible for the Frank V Harry 4+ in 2024 if I meet all the 
other Development criteria? 

A: No, you are not eligible for the Frank V Harry 4+ in 2024 because you 
won a round in an Aspirational level event.    

Q: I got to the quarterfinal of J4+ in 2019.   I then gave up rowing 
while at university but have now come back to rowing at my local 
club.   I’m training with some people who did a Learn to row course in 
2023 and have never raced at HWR.  Can we race in the Frank V Harry 
4+?    

A: No, you are not eligible for the Frank V Harry 4+ in 2024 because you 
have previously won a round in your Junior 4+.    

Q: Why are composite crews allowed in Senior events except the 
Frank V Harry 4+? 

A: Composites were previously allowed in Senior & Elite events, but not in 
Intermediate.   They are now allowed in Aspirational & Championship 
events (but not Development) to enable clubs with fewer athletes the 
opportunity to compete at this level.   We would expect that, for the 
leading UK universities and clubs, their first crews may be racing in 
Championship and the lower crews will race in the Aspirational events 

Q: Can overseas crews race in Aspirational events? 

A: Some overseas crews may be eligible to race in Aspirational level 
events.   Any crew wishing to race in Aspirational will need to provide a 
rowing CV per Regatta Rule 3.3. We expect American Division 1 crews to 
race in Championship.  American Division 3 crews can enter Aspirational.   



Note: CVs are not required for crews entering Championship events or for 
crews entering Junior or J16 events but they must meet the age rules. 

Q: Why can I only have 2 juniors in the Frank V Harry 4+ event?  My 
club only has 1 eligible athlete but she has been rowing with 3 
similarly eligible juniors during the winter. 

A: The Frank V Harry 4+ is intended to be an event for Seniors.  Clubs 
with lots of Juniors should enter the Junior 4+ event.   The rule is set at 2 
juniors to try and enable smaller clubs to form crews to participate in this 
event. 

Q: Why have you not split the Development event into Club and 
Academic? 

A: Having analysed the range and standard of entries over a number of 
years, offering a Club and Academic event at the Aspirational level rather 
than Development is appropriate as it reflects the improvement in 
women’s rowing.  However, the Committee recognise that the regatta 
should support the pathway for less experience oarswomen and have 
offered a coxed 4 event.  The Frank V Harry 4+ is the entry level event for 
the regatta, whether you are training as a student or otherwise. 

Q: In the summary of exclusions grid, none of the Development 4+ 
exclusions are listed as *from 2019-2024, why is this? 

A: The Frank V Harry 4+ is our entry level event and the exclusions are 
based on ability and performance history rather than when you achieved 
that performance. We appreciate that people take time away from the 
sport for a variety of reasons, but if you have been successful in the sport 
historically then you will have a level of skill and ability that will quickly 
return when you return to training.   

Q: I raced at an autumn regatta for my home club in September. I am 
now at University. Can I race in the Cathy Cruickshank event for that 
University? 

A: Yes, you can race for your university in an Academic event because 
you are a registered internal student for the year at that university. 

Q: I am at University. I have not raced in a regatta for that University. 
Can I race for a local club in the Copas Cup or Lester Trophy events? 

A: Yes, you can race in Club events if you have not raced in a regatta for 
that university. 

Q: I decided not to continue at university after the first term and so 
have come back home and am rowing with my local club while I job 



hunt. Can I race for my local club in the Copas Cup or Lester Trophy 
events? 

A: Yes, you can race in Club events.  As you are no longer a registered 
student at university you cannot race in the Colgan Foundation Cup or the 
Cathy Cruickshank Cup. 

Q: I finished my PhD and graduated in January but have continued 
training with the other students, can I race in the Colgan Foundation 
Cup or the Cathy Cruickshank Cup Academic events this summer? 

A: As you are no longer a registered student at university you cannot race 
in these Academic events but you can race in Club sweep events or any 
sculling events that you meet the qualification criteria for. 

Q: Why is there a minimum number of crews required to enter for the 
event to run? 

A: The committee believe that a HWR medal should not be won in a 
straight final. However, we recognise that the number of crews in some 
events is relatively small and have reduced the minimum to be 3 at 
CLOSE of ENTRIES.  If 1 crew scratches after entries close the event will 
still run.   

 

Queries to: entries@hwr.org.uk  


